Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Better! Also Desmond is hot.ttt.

First, I'd like to take a moment to say


Henry Ian Cusick: He Even Makes Sissy Hummingbirds Look Hot

yummy . . .

Right. So aside from the hurrahs for adding even more hot guys to the Lost cast, I'd like to cast my vote for the best episode so far this season. By FAR. I do appreciate the departure from the Season 2 opening episodes where we had to live through the same scenes from slightly different POVs for three or four episodes. I am much more interested in seeing where all the groups of Losties are in episode-sized chunks. That's great. But it's not enough.

The big difference this week was that we are back to the true mystery of the island. How the hell does Desmond know what Locke is going to do before he's going to do it? How does a dead man speak to a stoned mute guy about Jack, Sawyer, and Kate when the latter doesn't even know what has happened to Jack, Sawyer, and Kate yet? I love it! THIS is what I like about Lost. I'm not saying that The Others aren't still a mysterious bunch, but the current implication that they are totally connected with rest of the world is actually pretty dull to me. In a way, it's almost playing into the most obvious plot "twist." So- my hope is that things are not what they seem. And that we get more naked time with Desmond. I like them a little crazy and running around pantsless in a tie-dye shirtdress.

Sun is a lyin' Ho

Sun isn't even that great at lying, but she does it constantly. Clearly her father is to blame, he didn't punish her for lying when she broke the ballerina, and it never got any better. He tried to guilt her into the truth, but she still lied. Later in the backstory, when she's sleeping with her teacher and gets caught, her father still doesn't punish her. She asks if he's going to tell Jin, and he still leaves it to her guilt (apparentally she has no conscience). She should be the one to tell Jin. Sun's father punishes the hell out of the teacher though. We also saw last year when the fertility doctor confessed to Sun that Jin is the one who was infertile, and she didn't tell Jin about it. Well, at least until she was miraculously pregnant. I thought, even back then, that teacher was the daddy. Kat insisted he was gay. Score one for Wood.

David and I talked a little today about how much Jin actually knows. He outed her once already with the ambush thing in the Glass Ballerina episode. What if he knew about the teacher, knew Sun was trying to leave him... It might explain why he was such a jerk in the first season. Just a thought.

Also, wanted to see what you guys think of talking about other shows here too. We all like the same basic shows, though we may not watch all the same ones (yet). Lost has an 8 week run, then is off for a while, so things will die down during that period. One reason I thought of this is that I want to complain about Gilmore Girls. First, we missed the first few episodes because it changed channels and Tivo didn't realize it. I caught the last half hour of last night's episode, and am very unhappy. Lorelai and Christopher are back together, and Luke is spending all his time with April. Why'd they have to break up Lorelai and Luke? I'm so pissed. And such a girl.

Anyway, other shows we could also talk about: Gilmore Girls, Heroes, Prison Break, Sunset Strip, House, or that show Daybreak when it starts (when Lost goes on break). Not the Nine. That show sucks. Any other suggestions?

Friday, October 13, 2006

The Glass Ballerina

Episode 2 of season 3 was a small step up from episode 1 in my opinion. One of the big things I look for in Lost episodes is that there be a quality backstory, and that it relate thematically to what is happening on the island. I think that's why I didn't like "A Tale of Two Cities". The backstory had pretty much nothing to do with the main story.

In "The Glass Ballerina", though, the backstory mirrors the main story fairly well I think. Basically, Sun betrays Jin with another man. Side note: Kat thought Sun's 'english teacher' was gay. Second side note: there has been some speculation that Zeke is gay.

Other things in the episode I liked. Sun shooting the bitchy blonde. Is she dead? Probably not, but I hope so. Also, Sawyer picking a fight with the guards to find out how tough they are. I guess anytime you beat up Others, I'm gonna be happy. Almost as happy as beating up mascots. Btw, what happened to the Others' super strength. Does anyone remember how Ethan was tossing people around. Are they a group of "heroes" who all have different powers and he was the dumb strong guy who can fix your house? Hmm, that might make an interesting post, what powers do the losties and others have. Hurley has the power of making food appear (and disappear), Charlie has mind control (how else do you explain this?), etc.

One last thing. David and I were discussing whether the Others are really good or not. They keep saying they are, and there's some speculation that they're trying to save the world. I don't think they're good, and here is why: If you were good, and doing something noble, then terrorizing/torturing people is not the best way to convince someone that you're right. Just tell them what you're doing. If they don't agree, then kill them. Ben/Henry being all secretive while telling Jack he's going to send him home is just ridiculous. Just tell him what you want. The fact that you won't tell him, suggests that it's not reasonable.

Nutjob theory of the week: Lost is set in the future, and all the technological anachronisms are because the island hosts aren't sure what the technology is really supposed to be like. So they've cobbled together tech from the general period. If they can get video of the Redsox winning the world series, surely they can get some new tvs.

Wednesday, October 11, 2006

Thoughts on "A Tale of Two Cities"

First episode of the season, and I was a little disappointed. I know they're trying to set things up for the season, but I felt like the backstory was a little weak. Overall I wasn't that impressed. The episode started out just like last season's premiere, tricking us into thinking we're watching a flashback, when we're really watching something 'live' on the island. Even though they did it last year, I still fell for it (so did David). I wonder if KQ, having watched last season so recently, caught on.

Here are my big questions from "A Tale of Two Cities":

  • How did they get the dossier on Jack? There's been some speculation that the info is faked, but they seemed to know too much (is Jack egotistical enough to tell someone on the island that he graduated from med school a year faster than anyone else?). I think this suggests the Others have contact with someone at Dharma/The Hanzo Foundation still. Or at least internet access.
  • What happened to Kate after her breakfast with Ben? Things seemed to be going well at breakfast, then when we see her again, her wrists are all cut up. Did she, like Sawyer and Jack, make a run for it?
  • and, of course, why did the Others specifically want Jack, Kate, and Sawyer? Btw, I'll go ahead and make a prediction here. One of the 3 gets 'brainwashed' and 'joins' the others. He/She will attempt to convert the other 2, but it turns out to just be an act. My money is on Jack. It will push Kate to Sawyer. Speaking of which, this is just creepy.
That's really about all that I got from episode 1. The Other's contact with the outside world is the big question, can't they get a more recent book for their club than Carrie? One more question, not really directly from the episode, but something I'm wondering... are the Others leftover Dharma scientists? or are they leftover Dharma test subjects? My latest theory is that the sickness effects scientists and that they are the 'other others' (the creepy walking through the jungle with no shoes making no sound others).

Coming soon: What the numbers mean.

Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Welcome

I was bored out of my mind on Monday, so Ned suggested I start a blog. My first thought was, I've got like 12 blogs already (Rival, Rival Training, Coaching, SPSU...). I don't have a personal blog though, mostly because I don't find myself that interesting. Most of what I talk and think about is already covered in those other blogs.

There is one vacancy though, Lost. I like the show a lot, and enjoy thinking about all the conspiracy theories. I also know a few people who like the show and enjoy discussing it, so I figured I'd start this blog where we can get together and share our thoughts. Anything relating to Lost is fair game (except spoilers, not even a discussion of previews).

David will hopefully post his the-island-is-a-boat theory.

Kat can post rants about how much the show pisses her off.

KQ can offer analysis of the literary allusions.

And I can, well, I don't have anything special to offer except stuff I think is cool.

As an example, from episode 1 of this season, I loved that they had a special button, and it already got pushed. I also got an overwhelming The Prisoner feeling. I'll expand on that in a later post hopefully.

Who else should we invite to the group?