Thoughts on "A Tale of Two Cities"
First episode of the season, and I was a little disappointed. I know they're trying to set things up for the season, but I felt like the backstory was a little weak. Overall I wasn't that impressed. The episode started out just like last season's premiere, tricking us into thinking we're watching a flashback, when we're really watching something 'live' on the island. Even though they did it last year, I still fell for it (so did David). I wonder if KQ, having watched last season so recently, caught on.
Here are my big questions from "A Tale of Two Cities":
Coming soon: What the numbers mean.
Here are my big questions from "A Tale of Two Cities":
- How did they get the dossier on Jack? There's been some speculation that the info is faked, but they seemed to know too much (is Jack egotistical enough to tell someone on the island that he graduated from med school a year faster than anyone else?). I think this suggests the Others have contact with someone at Dharma/The Hanzo Foundation still. Or at least internet access.
- What happened to Kate after her breakfast with Ben? Things seemed to be going well at breakfast, then when we see her again, her wrists are all cut up. Did she, like Sawyer and Jack, make a run for it?
- and, of course, why did the Others specifically want Jack, Kate, and Sawyer? Btw, I'll go ahead and make a prediction here. One of the 3 gets 'brainwashed' and 'joins' the others. He/She will attempt to convert the other 2, but it turns out to just be an act. My money is on Jack. It will push Kate to Sawyer. Speaking of which, this is just creepy.
Coming soon: What the numbers mean.

5 Comments:
I agree that the season opener wasn't exactly edge of your seat stuff, but I am confident that the set-up factor will payoff. Unless the writers were all lobotomized at some point between seasons, they are probably pretty well aware of the cost of NOT giving the audience payoffs.
Remember also that Season 2 gave us THREE EPISODES of basically the same story. That actually got a little annoying, but I also watched the season on DVD, so I was watching them all in a row. Actually, that was the day that Amy Salley and I sat on my couch for 7 hours watching Lost. We are so cool . . .
Sweet, one more on board. I never really thought the Ben/Henry thing was much of a surprise. I was mildly curious at best who Ben was. It seemed completely obvious when he finally showed up that he was Ben.
I did think Jack's backstory was a little out of whack with what we've seen so far. He was nuts!
I suppose they may have been building up to a Jack break. I guess I am suspicious of the Jack break at all. Maybe I'm just a bigger fan of Jack than you are David.
What do you think of the idea of Jack becoming a 'true' other?
Jack is our HERO. He's just more realistic than most. If you were as great as Jack, people would think you were kind of an ass too. It's cause they're jealous. Don't hate.
Have a little pity for the man, he's losing Kate to Sawyer. I'm guessing he gets Juliette, but that doesn't seem like a fair trade to me.
I am with you on the Jack love. And not just because Matthew Fox looks like Lee Lynch with darker hair and less vomit-inducing feet.
Post a Comment
<< Home