Thursday, December 07, 2006

What's your favorite cancelled show?

In honor of KQ and The Nine, I was wondering what your favorite show that got cancelled was. Before everyone picks SportsNight, the only shows valid for this discussion are ones with lots of unanswered questions. For instance, if Lost was cancelled today, it would be #1 on my list. Here's my first shot at a list:

  • Profit - Fox never really gave this show a chance, I think they only aired like 6 episodes before killing it. It began my fascination with Adrian Pasdar, who has done nothing interesting since (until this season with Heroes). The show centered on Jim Profit (Pasdar) as an evil corporate executive who was willing to do anything to get to the top. Clearly one of my heroes. I wonder if that's why I'm getting an MBA now.
  • John Doe - Before he got framed for killing the vice president's brother, Dominic Purcell was a genius with amnesia. He could remember everything except his own history. There was a shadowy government agency (surprise) trying to (re?)capture him, while he tried to figure out who he was. All I know is the song "My Funny Valentine" had something to do with it.
  • X-Files - The original ask-more-questions-than-you-answer show. While it lost me before it actually got cancelled, I still have no clue what was going on. The show was too successful (one thing I worry about with Lost), after David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson left, they should have just wrapped up the loose ends. They thought they could carry on with replacement actors/characters, and wanted to leave the door open for movies down the road. Major mistake. A series finale with Mulder and Scully finally figuring it all out would have been sweet. (Disclaimer: It's been awhile, maybe they did figure out the big questions. Is that why I lost interest?)
I'm sure there are more I'm repressing. As I said, I worry about Lost disappointing. The thing I like about Day Break is that (I think) it's only supposed to be 1 season. It is a 12 show mini-series, so hopefully they've already decided how things are going to turn out. They should do this more often. By the way, Day Break was created by Rob Bowman, who did a lot of X-Files writing/directing, and of course it's also got Mitch Pillegi aka Skinner and Adam Baldwin, all from X-Files!

Friday, December 01, 2006

Daybreak

Instead of Lost, we get...Daybreak. I love it. I can't compare it to Lost, but Daybreak is pretty darn good in my opinion. I loved Groundhog Day, and constantly looking for references (Brett's girlfriend's name is Rita, same as Andy McDowell).

I particularly like how they are changing up the do-over days. At first, Brett carries his injuries over, but everything else is the same. Now, it appears that Brett can solve a problem, and it will work itself out the next day without him. In the last episode, he helps his partner deal with her boyfriend (and Brett's former partner) get into rehab and not kill himself. The next day, he wakes up, and his partner calls him and tells him she's checking the boyfriend into rehab. That was one heckuva surprise. I kept wondering how he was going to manage to save all these people. I guess eventually they'll be able to save themselves.

I know one thing, I'm gonna keep watching.